Heritage Parts Centre Reviews

4.63 Rating 7,000 Reviews
91 %
of reviewers recommend Heritage Parts Centre
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
97%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.80 out of 5
Read Heritage Parts Centre Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01273 444 000

Email:

help@heritagepartscentre.com

Location:

47, Dolphin Road, Shoreham-by-Sea

Write Your review

Tell us how Heritage Parts Centre made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
I asked the question, How do I install this part because it didn't come with instructions and you did not reply. Why?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to review. The Trim Clip has small barbs that locate into the existing holes left by the old clip. Once installed, the inner section of the clip will need pushing in also to expand the barbs. It might be worth having a garage install these for you, if you are still unsure.
Posted 1 year ago
This company and staff are just unhelpful, they delay sending the item and then blame royal mail, they then delay the refund of the part that was sent back, I will not be dealing with them again. The emails are not helpful they keep sending satisfaction emails but do not do anything when you state that you are not happy.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I have still not recieved my product. Someone has not included my name in the airway bill of DHL and my product is held up in customs. Invoice has been correctly generated with my name. I have sent so many mails to your customer care id but nothing has materialised
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
thanks for taking the time to review. i have passed your details on to the Customer Service team. From the details we have, it looks like your name doesn't appear in the correct field when you added your address, this has probably added to the delay with delivery in India.
Posted 1 year ago
Parts didn't fit unless you want to totally butcher it and was bent on arrival in the packaging. Company said would look into it that was over a week ago and still waiting.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I have purchased something that is not what I expected. I have wrote an email to the customer center and after 12 days, I have no answer.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I was charged, received a confirmation for my order, and never got another response from the company. Ive reached out to their customer support 4 times with no response. I guess they get to keep my parts, and my money. and just not respond.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to review. i can see your order has been dispatched/sent to you in the USA from the UK via airmail. Having checked i can't see we have received any correspondence from you via our email help@heritagepartscentre.com if you don't receive your order in the next 7 days please contact us via the above email.
Posted 1 year ago
Very poor customer service. Left numerous messages but no one came back to me. Sent me only half the parts I’d ordered.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to review. Apologies you haven't received a reply from you enquiry? i can see the back order items have been despatched and should be with you early this week.
Posted 1 year ago
bad advice via phone carburetor not right for my engine
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to review. if you can contact us via help@heritagepartscentre.com we can look into the issue for you.
Posted 1 year ago
You have picked the wrong time to ask me for a review. Because HERITAGE made a mistake and refunded money into our account a stop was put on us. We would have gladly refunded the £26.95 without issue. As a result of our account being put on stop without notification and ordered parts (to the value of £321.95) have not been delivered putting me in a embarrassing situation as I promised my customer I would have his bus ready for his holiday trip this weekend. Customer relations with Heritage is non existent, gone are the days when we dealt with James Twait who did actually seem to care and encourage business instead of the current staff who really don't seem to care. I have cancelled my current order and really hope I never have to deal with Heritage again. Mark Logan Logybear Campervan Hire.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I recently purchased a new power steering pump for my 2000 T4 1.9 TD. After 18 month ditch failed, leaking fluid out the shaft. I am now replacing it with a new pump purchased from you.dissappointed.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Have not received item yet.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Very helpful and professional.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Is anyone going to contact me ever ?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I have used VW heritage for about 20 years when they had a small shop at Lakeside Essex SSP, I have always recommended to other people that I know with Volkswagen but just recently over the last two years I would not recommend this company to anybody I know, I have a delivery several months ago which was damaged when delivered and I had problems getting a new delivery it took too long, Today I’m experiencing problems as well the delivery driver has delivered my parcel to another house in the neighbourhood 4 days ago and I can’t retrieve the parcel from them VW heritage are no help in resolving this problem? Also I would like to add that the salesman are not experienced in high-performance vw engines I had a problem with a set of the rocker shaft’s and nobody was experienced enough to sort the problem pretty useless as they are the ones that sell them.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks for tasking the time to review. We are sorry you have had problems recently with the delivery company. Please call the Customer Service Team on 01273 444000 so they can look into the problem and escalate the issue with a manager. In relation to the problem part, if you can send us your details via help@heritagepartscentre.com we'll contact you or call and speak to Paul who is our Engine man, he should be able to help. Each member of the sales team have their specialist area, sadly each of them don't know everything, but combined, we have a very good knowledge base.
Posted 1 year ago
Ordered a carb arrived damaged and not factory setting (as told by my mechanic) used old parts off old carb to solve damage issues. Ordered next day delivery but doesnt state needs be ordred before 4pm. Was late being dispatched due to computer system erro. Arrived in a box with no packaging to stop carb from moving around. Was told i would get refund on delivery charge still waiting. My mechanic is happy to send pics of carb and report if needed. Couldnt send it back as needed my van on the road asap as use for work.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to review, sorry if you've had issues. I can see the postage refund has been instigated and should show in your account shortly, it can take a few days between accounts. If you can contact us, we can look into the Carb issue.
Posted 1 year ago
Service very good but hate being pestered for feedback, reviews, etc.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Sorry to pester you, but your feedback is important to us.
Posted 1 year ago
I don't rate you yet because I have not received your item. I purchased plastic film sheet for early vw speedo repair. I never got here. Can you please check? My name is Xavier Casado and I live in Barcelona. My order number is WEBX120120701971. Thanks
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Estimado Xavier, Sentimos el retraso provocado por Royal Mail/Correos en la entrega de su pedido, hemos consultado la información de seguimiento y aparece como entregado hoy mismo. Quedamos a su disposición. Gracias
Posted 1 year ago
Hello,every possibility to contact you doesnt work. You send me the wrong bumper for the Golf two. I bought a black one with a chrome stripe and you send me one with a painted stripe. I need now a return note for my package to send it back. I want my money back please. Marcel Köhler
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thanks for taking the time to review and apologies if you have had issues? Our contact details are either 0044 1273 444000 or help@heritagepartscentre.com as per the website. If we have sent you the incorrect item in error, we will of course organise getting the part collected.
Posted 2 years ago
Llevo 15 días esperando un tapón en stock que tenía que llegar en 4 días, y sigue sin llegar. Me dieron el numero de seguimiento porque lo pedí, si no lo pido no me lo facilitan. Decepcionado, no volveré a comprar aquí.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Le pedimos disculpa por el retraso en la entrega de su pedido, desafortunadamente, los servicios de correos pueden sufrir ciertos retrasos en estas fechas debido al incremento de carga de trabajo así como de los festivos que tienen lugar a primeros de Diciembre. Hemos comprobado hoy mismo el seguimiento de su pedido y aparece ya en reparto para su entrega. Quedamos a su disposición. Gracias y felices fiestas.
Posted 2 years ago
Muy mala comunicación con el cliente
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Heritage Parts Centre is rated 4.63 based on 7,000 reviews